Attention! Tustin Hangar ResourceClick Here

California's 40th District

Jun 4, 2023 | In The News

Washington, DC –On June 1, House Foreign Affairs Indo-Pacific Subcommittee Chairwoman Young Kim (CA-40) and Ranking Member Ami Bera (CA-06) introduced a bipartisan resolution to remember the victims of the 1989 Tiananmen Square massacre and condemn the Chinese Communist Party (CCP)’s continued crackdown on human rights and basic freedoms in the People’s Republic of China (PRC) and Hong Kong.

This year marks the 34th anniversary of the 1989 Tiananmen Square massacre.

“We will never forget the brave students who stood up to their oppressive regime and came face-to-face with the People’s Liberation Army in Tiananmen Square. More than three decades later, we remember the victims and honor their legacy by supporting freedom-loving people who remain trapped under the Chinese Communist Party’s authoritarianism,” said Chairwoman Kim.  “I am proud to stand together with Ranking Member Bera to lead this bipartisan resolution and send a united message that the United States will continue to be a beacon of freedom, hope, and opportunity on the world stage.”

“As we mark the 34th anniversary of the massacre at Tiananmen Square, we remember the brave individuals who lost their lives while courageously taking a stand for freedom and democracy,” said Ranking Member Bera. “More than three decades later, the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) continues to imprison individuals commemorating the anniversary of Tiananmen Square, target journalists, human rights lawyers, and pro-democracy activists, and impose authoritarian restrictions on Hong Kong’s autonomy and electoral system. We cannot turn a blind eye to the CCP’s intensifying assault on freedom, democracy, and human rights. This bipartisan resolution sends a clear message that on this solemn anniversary the United States Congress stands in support of fundamental human rights and freedoms for the people of China and Hong Kong.”

Reps. Andre Carson (IN-07), Dina Titus (NV-01), Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-AL), Michael Waltz (FL-06), Steve Cohen (TN-09), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Brad Sherman (CA-30), Andy Kim (NJ-03), William Keating (MA-09), Ann Wagner (MO-02), and Gerry Connolly (VA-11) joined as original cosponsors of the resolution.

South OC Times

Signup to receive our Email Newsletters

The Latest News