Attention! Tustin Hangar ResourceClick Here

California's 40th District

U.S. Rep. Young Kim (R-CA) led a bipartisan group of 51 lawmakers in urging President Joe Biden to deny entry visas to the United States for Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi and his delegation to attend the United Nations General Assembly’s 77th session in New York that runs Sept. 13-27.

“The United States cannot overlook Ebrahim Raisi’s direct involvement in gross violations of internationally recognized human rights, including the 1988 organized mass murder of thousands of political prisoners, among whom were women and children, by the Iranian regime,” wrote Rep. Kim and her colleagues in a Sept. 8 letter sent to Biden. “Raisi continues to publicly defend his role in the 1988 executions.”

The lawmakers noted that they also find it “highly concerning” that Raisi and other members of the so-called “death committee” responsible for the executions have not been investigated and charged with crimes against humanity. 

“Given Ebrahim Raisi’s record of supporting terrorism and violating human rights, he should not be afforded the privilege to step onto American soil nor the privilege to address the United Nations General Assembly,” the members wrote. “We cannot turn a blind eye to perpetrators of gross violations of internationally recognized human rights and cruel regimes that endanger both their people and Americans.”

Rep. Kim and her colleagues pointed out that Section 212 of the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) gives the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and the U.S. State Department the legal authority to deny entry to any individual outside the U.S. who “has committed, ordered, incited, assisted, or otherwise participated in the act of torture” or who has been associated with a terrorist organization. 

Similarly, the INA gives the president the authority to deny entry of individuals whose entry into the U.S. is deemed “detrimental to the interests of the United States,” according to their letter.

“We urge you and your administration to carefully consider this matter of national security and to use your authorities under the INA to deny Ebrahim Raisi and his delegation entry into the United States.” 

Among those who joined Rep. Kim in signing the letter were U.S. Reps. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Ann Wagner (R-MO), Bob Latta (R-OH), Nancy Mace (R-SC), Don Bacon (R-NE), Stephanie Bice (R-OK), Tom Emmer (R-MN), David Valadao (R-CA), Andrew Garbarino (R-NY), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-IA), Blake Moore (R-UT), Mike Turner (R-OH), Brad Wenstrup (R-OH), Troy Balderson (R-OH), Pete Stauber (R-MN), and Tim Ryan (D-OH).

The Ripon Advance

Signup to receive our Email Newsletters

The Latest News