## U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

June 23, 2025

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Governor State of California 1021 O Street, Suite 9000 Sacramento, California 95814

Dear Governor Newsom,

We strongly oppose two impending increases in gasoline costs proposed by your administration that are set to take effect on July 1, 2025—measures that could impose an additional \$0.68 per gallon on California drivers.

In November 2024, the unelected bureaucrats at the California Air Resources Board (CARB) approved updates to the State's Low Carbon Fuel Standard (LCFS), despite widespread concerns about affordability. Beginning July 1, 2025, this regulatory change is expected to increase gas prices by 65 cents per gallon. In addition, your administration has announced an increase to the state's gasoline excise tax, raising it to 61.2 cents per gallon—further compounding the financial strain on working families.

These developments come amid the closure of several in-state refineries, placing further pressure on California's already limited transportation fuel supply. Rather than addressing these supply challenges, the state's actions threaten to deepen the hardship faced by millions of Californians who are already struggling to meet their families' basic needs.

We have repeatedly urged your administration to suspend the gas tax and halt new regulatory measures that raise fuel prices. Yet, our calls have gone unanswered. As of this letter's date, AAA reports that the average price of gasoline in California stands at \$4.66 per gallon, \$1.44 above the national average and the highest in the country. If your administration proceeds with these increases, projections show gas prices could soar to \$8.43 per gallon by 2026. This is simply unsustainable for the constituents we represent.

We urge you to immediately suspend any further increases to California's gasoline excise tax and pause the implementation of CARB's LCFS updates. Californians need relief—not additional burdens.

Sincerely,

allh

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

Ken Calvert

Member of Congress

Jay/Obernolte

Member of Congress

Kevin Kiley

Member of Congress

Young Kim

Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa

Doug LaMalta
Member of Congress

Vince Fong

Member of Congress

Tom McClintock

Member of Congress

Darrell Issa

Member of Congress