United States Congress

Washington DC, 20510

March 29, 2021

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives H-232, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-204, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy:

As Members of the bipartisan House Problem Solvers Caucus, we are united in the idea that there are commonsense solutions to many of our country's toughest challenges. We are writing to urge a return to regular order in the House, with full committee consideration of legislation and more open rules on the House floor.

With narrow majorities in the House and Senate, we need bipartisan support and solutions to get bills passed in both houses and ultimately signed into law by the President. The best way to do this is by having a deliberative and open process that promotes transparency and allows members to help shape legislation through committee hearings, markups, and floor amendments. We should not be afraid to deliberate and debate.

As you know, in recent weeks, most bills have been fast-tracked to the House floor, bypassing committees; closed rules have constrained Members' ability to offer amendments and provide valuable input on issues that impact all our communities. This has created a rushed process with a lack of Member input and transparency, greatly limiting the potential for success in the Senate, and it is also encouraging dilatory tactics from some in the minority party. A return to regular order will help end that approach, ensure the long-term functionality of the institution, and help prevent damage to the House.

We believe a return to regular order can help build the necessary support from both parties to enact meaningful, bipartisan legislation that creates new possibilities for Americans and addresses many of the challenges impacting our country. The opportunities are endless if we adhere to a process that reflects the best for all Americans – promoting Member input, encouraging collaboration, and championing cooperation.

Sincerely,

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Problem Solvers Caucus Co-Chair

Tom Reed Member of Congress

Problem Solvers Caucus Co-Chair

Stryml & O Gnenberge

Abigail D. Spanberger Member of Congress

Thomas R. Surgy

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader Member of Congress

Van Taylor Member of Congress

Jared Golden Member of Congress

Jennifer Gonzalez-Colon Member of Congress

Tom Rice Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress Brien Fely patrick

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Jaime Herrera Beutler

Jamie Herrera Beutler Member of Congress

Duoty Jomson

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

Elaine Luria Member of Congress

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

Daniel Meuser Member of Congress

Stephanie Murphy Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Mark.

Locke

Salud O. Carbajal Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress THOUGH.

Peter Meijer Member of Congress

Young Kim Member of Congress

Additional Signers Include

Ben Cline Mike Bost
Carolyn Bordeaux Pete Stauber
Darren Soto Scott H. Peters
Don Bacon Steven Horsford
Fred Upton Susie Lee
J. Luis Correa

This letter has been officially endorsed by the Problem Solvers Caucus, garnering the support of more than 75-percent of the 58-member, bipartisan caucus.

Cc. Chairman James P. McGovern Ranking Member Tom Cole